A Hard Slog……

I remember how I felt last year when Stacy Pearsall told me she would love to bring the Veterans Portrait Project to the UK.  I was beaming from ear to ear.   Then the realisation set in.   Was there really an appetite amongst UK veterans to take part?  Would the project be feasible in UK?  I was now responsible for everything leading up to and beyond the project launch, was I up to it?  A million and one questions.  This project was someone else’s baby. Potentially Stacy’s reputation was on the line, she had put a lot of faith in me, we had never met, we had never even spoken.  Was she nuts?  Maybe.  Maybe she saw something she liked.  I don’t know.  Maybe it was a veteran thing.

I put my hands up when I say I was not aware of Stacy before becoming involved in the Veterans Portrait Project.  I am sure Stacy will not be offended by this admission.  Shortly after agreeing to bring the project to the UK I done a bit of research (nothing like closing the stable door after the horse has bolted).  Those of you who have never heard of Stacy Pearsall, stick her name into Google.…………..you’re punching a wee bit above your weight here Mr Porteous!!!  To be honest I am glad I done the research afterwards, there may have been no UK project otherwise.

Fast forward 6 months and I feel like I have been tied to my office at home forever.  Emails, phone calls, letters……mostly to prospective sponsors and venues, many of which have gone unanswered and there have been many disappointments.  It started to seem like it was never ending.  It has also been quite stressful and I admit to a few sleepless nights.  Sound like I am having a gripe?  Absolutely not…..This is one the most meaningful and exciting project I have ever been involved in.  The late nights, the worry, the doubt….pffffft.  No one said it would be easy and I am still beaming from ear to ear. Roll on May………..

email_footer_sponsor_logo

SP

The VPPUK Team

facebooktwitter

web@veteransportraitproject.uk

www.veteransportraitproject.uk

A Hard Slog……

Leave a comment